Poetry Slam

■ The annual Cape Town Poetry Slam starts next week with three preliminary slams and a final round at The Fugard Theatre on Saturday September 8. Allison-Claire Hoskins, Roché Kester, Samora Magwa and Quaz Roodt will be among the poets hosting the initial rounds and there will be live beats by DJ Deco. Riyaadh Sarang, pictured, who uses the poet name Riyo, was the winner of the 2017 Cape Town Poetry Slam. Budding poets can sign up on the day of each preliminary round, with a maximum of 25 poets taking part. The preliminary rounds take place: